This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Dynamically adding NavBarGroup

Sep 7, 2007 at 4:05 AM
I'm new to DevExpress and have only been working with SCSF for a couple of months. I've placed a NavBarWorkspace on the left of my shell form. I'd like to trigger the filling of a NavBarGroup using a menu option or toolstrip but am having trouble finding my way around. For now I have a single business module which registers two menu items - people and households. When one of the menu items is clicked the first time, I'd like to programatically create the appropriate NavBarGroup and then put a list view inside of it (e.g. a list of persons). Does someone have a code sample to share? The BankTeller sample has its two groups created at design time whereas I'd like modules to add them as needed.

Thanks!
Sep 8, 2007 at 10:56 AM
Excellent question.
The NavBarWorkspace's NavBarGroups should probably always be constructed in code rather than at design time. I had to go through the same thinking process when I first used it.
It is my intention to change the sample app to do this, I just haven't got around to it yet.
It looks like you need a level of dynamicness, that is even one-more than I need. I create all the NavBarGroups on ModuleInit, nothing after that., but the same code should still suit you as far as I can see.

Sep 8, 2007 at 12:25 PM
Edited Sep 9, 2007 at 1:59 AM
This should give you a rough idea.
In this case, I'm using a CustomContainer in my Group, rather than populating it with NavBarItems.

NavBarGroup group = new NavBarGroup();
group.GroupStyle = NavBarGroupStyle.ControlContainer;
group.Expanded = true;
group.Caption = "Statistics";
group.GroupCaptionUseImage = NavBarImage.Large;
//SetupIcons(group);

UIExtensionSite mainNavBarWorkspace = _rootWorkItem.UIExtensionSites[UIExtensionNames.NavBarWorkspace];
mainNavBarWorkspace.Add(group);